Rehan meets the Senator, Mr. Bob Casey.

Hola Folks,

Once again one of our YES student, Rehan Zafar, has shared his exciting story with us. Rehan a former exchange student says, “This attracted senator’s staff and they discussed the politics and US-Pakistan relations with me for a long time.”  Lets read his story through his own words.

rehan“America – the land of opportunities has provided me with innumerable opportunities throughout my exchange year. Recently, I got a chance to meet the Senator of Pennsylvania and the chairman of the committee of South Asian affairs, Mr. Bob Casey. Walking into a magnificent hall with glorious chandeliers dangling from the roof which had eye catching carvings, I was very nervous. But when I met the senator, his friendly attitude made all my nervousness disappear. During my talk with the senator, I thanked him and the US government for providing us with great chances through YES program; I forwarded him the message of peace from my country, Pakistan which he received with great appreciation. I asked him: “What made you get to such a high position and how do you think I can achieve the same in my own country?” to which he replied with a smile: “I can see a commitment and motivation to do something for your country in you. Don’t let go of it.”

The main purpose of the meeting was to represent my country so for the purpose, I was wearing Shalwar Kameez, traditional dress of my country. This attracted senator’s staff and they discussed the politics and US-Pakistan relations with me for a long time. Senator Casey also wrote me a letter signed by himself wishing me luck for my future prospects. When I walked out of that hall with signed letter in my hand, I knew that I had achieved something, I had presented the message of peace in a good way and that I had learned a lot which will help me secure a better future for my country.
A proud Pakistani
Rehan Zafar”

If you want to share your exciting story with us, email us at exchange_ss@hotmail.com

Follow us on twitter @ExchangeSs

Have a blessed day!

About Aqib Malik

I am an exchange student and currently in USA.I am going to put some serious and some methods to achieve your exchange year successfully. I with my experience and with your questions and reply will help other students... One year oppurnity Either "make it or break it" (by FARAH KAMAL)

Posted on January 16, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

