Maira Qadri’s Exchange Year’s helpful Story- Share your story.

Second story shared by Maira Qadri, K-LYES participant in the year 2010-2011. She says,“There are good people and bad people everywhere; you just have to choose which hands to shake and which hands to hold.” 

“Hello My name is Maira and I was an exchange student in the year 2010-2011. In this passage down below, I won’t talk about all the lavishing and fun stuff you may go through in United States rather will discuss how I managed to get of a small trouble. So Here I go with my short story. My Host Family life was good, had no such big issues. We had such friendly bond with each other. But most important part of your exchange year is your school life. In the beginning, I had problems in my school. The people were not so cooperative. I also got bullied in the first months of my school life. They use to make fun of me being Muslim, Pakistani and use to call me with names such as terrorist. I believe that was the major problem I had to face during my exchange year. I was all depressed because all of my other fellows had lots of friends and they were enjoying their exchange year whereas I barely had any. I decided to talk to my host family; I told them this whole story. They advised me to go to my counselor and talked to them. I went to the school counselor’s office, talked to her. I was so surprised to see their reaction. They were really cooperative and so helpful that I felt comforted when I came out of their office. They assured me that from then I won’t face any such kind of problem. After that I don’t know whether they talked to the students at school or took any action but after that day, everybody came up to me and was talking normally. Finally I started making friends and from then my exchange year started to get better and better. I learned out of many, a very important key to adjust anywhere in life.

“There are good people and bad people everywhere; you just have to choose which hands to shake and which hands to hold.’

Now when I look back to what I was before going to United States and in the icy cold gusts and hot winds of Oklahoma to what I am after coming back, I believe I have changed a lot in an upright way. Being selected as a Youth exchange Student (YES) exchange student was the best thing that has ever happened to me. I am contented that I took that decision in my life. I hope to do more for my community and hope to be a helpful part of my society and for my country.

Maira Qadri

K-L YES Student

A Proud Muslim.”

About Aqib Malik

I am an exchange student and currently in USA.I am going to put some serious and some methods to achieve your exchange year successfully. I with my experience and with your questions and reply will help other students... One year oppurnity Either "make it or break it" (by FARAH KAMAL)

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Same here Maira Api, i’m also not enjoying in a way i should although i don have any such problem but still i’m not performing in the way i’m required…..would you plz help me???? i realy need a guide,i don want to spoil it i want to make it best year of my life….looking forward to your reply!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

